top of page

They had appointed elders for them in each church, with prayer and fasting they entrusted them to the Lord

Acts 14:23 NRSV

The Session

     The Session is the governing board of the congregation. In the PC(USA) system, there are Elders, Deacons, and Trustees, that help govern the church. At Springfield, we have a 'unicameral' board, which means that our Elders serve as Deacons and Trustees as well. We have six Elders that serve two year terms beginning in July, and have one renewable term for a total of a possible four years of continuous service. 

      The Session, composed of members of the church who have been called by a nominating committee, listen to the concerns, joys, and needs of the congregation and through prayer and discernment, help to make wise decisions as we move forward as a church of Christ in every age.

Current Session Members are:


Sharon Pappas, Clerk of Session

Class of '22:

Leah Halvorson

Ron Holmes

Alex McClung

Class of '23

Tim Oates

Bob Steppling

Steve Mazer

Class of '24

Leah Halvorson

Ron Holmes

Barbara Nickell

bottom of page